You are here
Home > News > Public protector candidate list released

Public protector candidate list released

By Bekithemba Ndebele

The Public Protector Thuli Madonsela’s term as the South Africa public protector comes to an end in October this year. A list of names of the contestants to fill her shoes are already submitted and published. 

After a number of names being submited for the selection, Fifty-nine names have remained after Nhlanhla Nene, Gerrie Nel and other prominent names rejected the nomination.

There will be 59 people vying to fill public protector Thuli Madonsela’s shoes.
Therefore, after narrowing down the list,there are now 59 candidates contesting to fill Thuli Madonsela’s position. This comes after some list candidates declined and did not respond to their nominations, as said by the Parliament’s public protector ad hoc committee on Tuesday.

Members of the public have until July 8 to make objections to any of these names on the candidates list.

According to Committee chairperson Makhosi Khoza, on Friday there were 73 nominations and seven candidates had declined. Hence, former President Thabo Mbeki’s name was not formal nominated through the process but verbal, thus why it was not considered.

The nominations which where declined by the candidates included former finance minister Nhlanhla Nene, prosecutor Gerrie Nel and former first lady Graça Machel, she said.

“The Committee is very impressed with the calibre of nominees and applicants received and this is an indication that South Africans thoroughly applied their minds in putting forward their nominees,” she said.
She further added that “The CVs will be released on Parliament’s website. We are all trying to get the best public protector.”

Here is the list below: 

1. Bernard Peter Agulhas
2. Adv Rhulani Ralph Baloyi
3. Melanie Bernard (Fryer)
4. Prof Narnia Bohler-Muller
5. Vincent James Botto
6. Adv Nonkosi Princess Cetywayo
7. Raymond Edward Chalom
8. Prof Pierre de Vos
9. Judge Sirajudien Desai
10. Phillip Dexter
11. Adv Pumeza Futshane
12. Adv Andrea Gabriel SC
13. Nombonisa Gasa (nomination declined)
14. Adv Mathys Johannes Gildenhuys
15. Adv MT Goodman (nee Shai)
16. Pregs Govender
17. Adv Mojankunyane Gumbi
18. Prof Alexander Mzamo Gumbi
19. Adv Mark Andrew Hawyes
20. Nick Haysom
21. Adv William Andrew Hofmeyr
22. Adv Zarina Kellerman (nee Prasadh)
23. Adv KB Kgoroeadira
24. Ashook Kirpal
25. Burt Silverston Laing
26. Ms Muvhango Lukhaimane
27. Graça Simbine Machel (nomination declined)
28. Adv Zwelethu Madasa
29. Adv Thuli Madonsela (term not renewable)
30. Prince Sefako Mafojane
31. Zola Majavu (nomination declined)
32. Adv Mohale Joseph Maluleke
33. Adv Kevin Sifiso Malunga
34. Lynnette Gail Marais
35. Busisiwe Mkhwebane
36. Vickqus Nkosikhona Mncube
37. Adv Hishaam Mohamed
38. M Mohlala-Mulaudzi
39. Justice Yvonne Mokgoro (nominated declined)
40. Adv Chris Madibeng Mokoditwa
41. Ronnie Samuel Mokoena
42. Thokwane Phineas Post Moloto
43. Tjitlo Monaledi
44. Audrey Mpofu
45. Adv Dali Mpofu SC
46. Adv Loyiso Khanyisa Bunye Mpumlwana
47. M Mthebule
48. Adv MM Mthembu
49. Themba Phillip Mthethwa
50. Adv Philani Pilatu Sydney Mthethwa
51. Janine Kim Myburgh
52. Krish Naidoo
53. Gerrie Nel (nomination declined)
54. Nhlanhla Nene (nomination declined)
55. Malcolm John Sphiwe Nhleko
56. Sophy Moipone Noko
57. Vuyokazi Pamella Noncembu
58. Nokuthula Sincercia Nwaoshai
59. Mthuthuzeki Moshesh Nyiki
60. Jill Claudelle Oliphant
61. Adv Vusi Pikoli (nomination declined)
62. Kaajal Ramjathan-Keogh
63. Tshepiso David Humphrey Ramphele
64. Riaz Achmed Saloojee
65. Jonas Ben Sibanyoni
66. MBoiki-John Tamako
67. Bawinile May Thabethe (nomination declined)
68. Adv Tseliso Thipanyane
69. Adv Randal Titus
70. Khunoana Harry Tswago
71. Vuyisa Vuza
72. Hermanus Lambertus Waldicks
73. Justice Sharise Weiner

Leave a Reply